Publisher Profile

Lyn Stanley, Santana, The Byrds

By: |

Lyn StanleyInterludes Numbered Limited Edition 180g 45rpm 2LP


Mastered by Bernie Grundman and Pressed at Quality Record Pressings


Side A:

  1. How Long Has This Been Going On?
  2. Just One Of Those Things
  3. Whole Lotta Love

Side B:

  1. More Than You Know
  2. Boulevard of Broken Dreams
  3. Nice ‘n Easy
  4. Black Velvet

LP 2

Side C:

  1. In A Sentimental Mood
  2. It’s Crazy
  3. Don’t Explain

Side D:

  1. Last Tango In Paris
  2. The Island
  3. I Was A Little Too Lonely
  4. I’m A Fool To Want You


I’m a little late to the party with this review. I have to admit, I had trouble working up any excitement for a third Lyn Stanley LP review. She is one of the nicest artists I have met and she has surely embraced the audiophile community, but her first two LPs seemed to me to be all of her music I needed. I loved both albums, and as good as the music is, the recordings and sound quality were just as good. I just hoped this latest LP would sound as good and the music would be as good, but different.

For Interludes there are two different groups of musicians recording at two different venues. Four of the cuts were recorded at Capitol’s Studio A with Mike Garson on piano, Berghofer on bass, John Chiodini on guitar and Paul Kreibich on drums. The rest of the album was recorded at United Recording’s Studio A with, Bill Cunliffe on piano, Chuck Berghofer on bass, Chiodini on guitar, Ray Brinker on drums, Bob McChesney on trombone, Henrick Meurkens on harmonica, Brad Dutz on percussion and Cecilia Tsan on cello.

I mention all these musicians because I think their playing and the arrangements are part of what makes Interludes such a sophisticated album. We already knew she could sing in a way that was emotional, seductive, saucy and inviting, but with this album she is both more adventuress, more sophisticated and her phrasing is more interesting.

I can honestly say I really enjoyed every number. I think Stanley succeeded at making an album that is more sophisticated and an album that I will listen to very often. By the way, the sound quality on this recording is even better than her first two; I wouldn’t have thought that was possible.



SantanaSantana Numbered Limited Edition 45rpm 180g 2LP


Mastering by Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab

Specially Plated and Pressed on 180 grams of High Definition Vinyl

Mastered from the Original Master Tapes

LP 1 – Side 1:

  1. Waiting
  2. Evil Ways

LP 1 – Side 2:

  1. Shades Of Time
  2. Savor
  3. Jingo

LP 2 – Side 3:

  1. Persuasion
  2. Treat

LP 2 – Side 4:

  1. You Just Don’t Care
  2. Soul Sacrifice


Santana’s self-titled debut album came out in 1969; I was 15 years old. The first time I heard it, I thought now that’s a different and great guitarist. I thought it was an incredible album. I didn’t know it then but it was the special blend of psychedelic, jazzy, Afro-Cuban exotic music with Santana’s own unique and great way of playing guitar that was blowing me away. Now MoFi has re-released it again as a 45RPM 2LP version.

I had never thought their 180g LP pressing held a candle to the original. This Deluxe 45RPM set is mastered from the original master tapes, and I think we have the definitive version of this incredible album from my youth. As I listened to it I was shocked that the music was even better than I remembered; why haven’t I been listening to this album more often?

The beautiful tones of Santana’s guitar and nuances of his playing comes through so well on this reissue. I was drawn into the music and felt an wonderful emotional connection to it. I never enjoyed this album more!



The Byrds Untitled 180g 2LP (Translucent Blue Vinyl)


Mastered by Friday Music’s Joe Reagoso & Pressed at RTI

LP 1

Side A:

  1. Lover Of the Bayou
  2. Positively 4th Street
  3. Nashville West
  4. So You Want To Be A Rock ‘n Roll Star
  5. Mr. Tambourine Man
  6. Mr. Spaceman

Side B:

  1. Eight Miles High

LP 2

Side C:

  1. Chestnut Mare
  2. Truck Stop Girl
  3. All the Things
  4. Yesterday’s Train
  5. Hungry Planet

Side D:

  1. Just A Season
  2. Take A Whiff On Me
  3. You All Look Alike
  4. Well Come Back Home


This is the Byrds double LP brought to us by Friday Music. This psychedelic classic with the strange title of Untitled reminded me of what a great band The Byrds were. It is basically one live album plus one studio album. As I listened to this album, I was reminded of how gifted they were. The Byrds’ brilliance comes through strong on their brilliant comeback album also named Untitled from 1972.

Untitled is far more than a greatest hit album. It features many of their big hits plus nine new numbers. On the live LP, there are seven classic rock songs, plus the entire side two is the amazing workout on “Eight Miles High.” This number truly sounds incredible!

My biggest concern when purchasing this album wasn’t the music. It wasn’t who was reissuing it, mastering or pressing it. My biggest concern was that it was on colored vinyl. Experience tells me that most of the LPs I have purchased on color vinyl have been poorly pressed. Well, worrying about that was a waste of time. The vinyl is quiet and the sound is beautiful. If you like the Byrds at all, get this album! If you don’t know the Byrds this album will give you a great introduction to this incredible band.


Copy editor: Laurence A. Borden
  • (Page 1 of 1)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Popups Powered By :